Ryker

I cried a little when Ryker came home. I was so excited and thankful and relieved that it was the beginning of a new chapter in my life; one of healing.

Image

His playfulness has gotten me through many funks. Depression filled days, but we can call them funks.

Image

He naturally knows to crawl up next to me when I’m upset, even if I’ve regretfully taken it out on him minutes before.

Image

And he keeps me feeling like no matter what I will never be alone again. He taught me to trust and gave me something to fight for and believe in. I think that’s why he’s so well behaved. He had to turn out to be a good dog. I had to be good at something. I needed affirmation that I wasn’t worthless. He was the first one to show me that. He was the first one I would let in to show me anything.

Image

Turns out, I guess he could have hurt me if he was a bad dog, which he’s not. And not like bad training, just an all around people-hating dog. But then I suppose if that were the case he never would have left the shelter. Let me plug for a moment adopting and asking about ways to retrain behavioral issues- it can be done, I’ve seen it, so do it! Part of getting Ryker was becoming responsible for someone other than myself. I already felt that I’d failed myself, so just adopting him was a big step, come to think about it. I could have failed him, which would have made my depression worse. But I didn’t. And he’s become one of the top sources of happiness in my life.

Image

He’s shown me how strong I am, and given me the courage to get my feet wet in the outside world a little bit. I suppose you don’t have much of a choice when you have to let him shit and don’t have a back yard, but I digress.

Image

To further understand Ryker’s adoption story, read this blog entry.

Leave a comment